Happy Anniversary to the Man of My Dreams (and waking hours as well)

Today is the anniversary of the day I married my soul mate. If men are from Mars, I’m trying to figure out how he got here. I’m glad he did but I’m puzzled. Since he doesn’t fly, I’m pretty certain a space ship is out of the question.

A few years ago, after we had attended several 50th Wedding Anniversaries, my husband said to me, “At 50, they redo the vows, have the cake, go through the whole thing again?” I said, “yea, it’s kind of customary at 50.” He said, “well, nobody told me it expired. I might not re-up.”

There was a time when staying married was expected.  You married your true love and lived happily ever after.  Well, you lived together ever after anyway, whether happily or not.  Now, I realize that my husband and I are exceptions to the rule.  We’re special.  He sure is, anyway.

Today it is too commonplace that families no longer stay together.  The divorce rate is way too high.  I’m not sure if anyone knows what it is. We can all agree, however, just from our personal knowledge, that the figure is way too high.

When I asked my husband why our marriage had lasted, he said, “what, are you crazy?  Why would you ever get rid of someone like me?”  He has a point.

Feminist ideology, which has strayed so far from its original goals, can share some blame for the decline in the traditional American family.  Women were told they were used and abused if they “chose” to stay home and answer the highest calling a woman can have, to be a mother and teach and nurture.  This group has even equated motherhood to slavery.  These feminists are in favor of any form of support, charity, welfare, etc., except a father in the home taking care of the family. Women were told, “do your own thing,” and men were told, “you aren’t responsible, it’s a woman’s choice” (in all matters).

Too bad, other women didn’t do as I did. Convince the husband that he’s bound for fifty years and then find a way to get him to “re-up”. It worked for me. The “Re-up” Ceremony was last year and now we may be over the hump.

Happy Anniversary, Sweetheart.

Leave a comment